Questions About Stacking Fondant Cakes.

Decorating By MessMaker Updated 15 Jul 2010 , 1:49am by CWR41

MessMaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MessMaker Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 1:22am
post #1 of 5

I know that these questions have been answered many times before but i cant seem to find them.

I know how to stack buttercream cakes, but this will be my first 3 tier fondant covered cake and i have a few questions.

1. Do you stack them differently than buttercream?
2. Do you cover with fondant and then stack or stack and then cover?

Im not sure of myself with this one, as I am a beginner and was asked to make the cake for a friends baby shower, and i dont want it collapse under its own weight or topple over..

Please help me. Im stumped icon_confused.gif

4 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 1:30am
post #2 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by MessMaker

1. Do you stack them differently than buttercream?
2. Do you cover with fondant and then stack or stack and then cover?

No.
cover and then stack.

ops, edited without cut 'n paste wrong order from above!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 1:41am
post #3 of 5

CWR41,

::politely:: WHAT??

Each tier of cake is covered in fondant and then stacked.
Basically everything's the same as with buttercreme.

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 1:43am
post #4 of 5

Hi. I'm also a newbie (just finished the 4 Wilton Courses taken over the past four months). My graduation cake from Course 4 was a 3-tier, stacked fondant cake. I apologize I can't send a photo because I don't know how to do that on the computer yet.

I did the following:
Baked the cakes on Sunday. Bottom was 10", middle 8", top 6". Used WASC recipe: 1 package (18.25 oz.) Duncan Hines white cake mix, 1 cup sour cream, ½ cup vegetable oil, 3 large eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (or almond, or lemon)