Wondering About Taking A Job In Established Bakery.

Business By BakedAlaska Updated 16 Jul 2010 , 6:10pm by Yum2010

BakedAlaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakedAlaska Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 11:09pm
post #1 of 4

Okay, so I am a hobby baker who would someday like to ditch the day job and become a full time cake girl.

That being said, the day job currently pays the bills. I do cakes from my home at night and on weekends. Okay, it's pretty much during every spare moment (and some not so spare moments) of my day.

I saw a "help wanted" ad recently for a cake decorator at a high end cake shop. So I applied and have sat down with the owners to discuss options. They're looking for someone to possibly work towards taking the place of a decorator they'll be losing in a few months.

If I take the position with them, I'd have to either do it very part-time so I could retain my far better paying day job, or I'd need to convince my family that housing and utilities are really overrated.

However, I would like to gain the experience of working in a true bakery setting and perhaps develop my skills even further. I have no formal training...

Of course, I wouldn't be able to market to home-based clientele if I'm working, even part-time, for this established bakery. So I guess my question is, do you folks think the experience I'd gain is worth the autonomy and any semblance of "free time" I'd lose? Has anyone made this transition successfully from corporate world to cake decorator? And what steps did you take? Would I be better off just biting the bullet and opening my own bakery? Or should I try to learn a few things about the business first, from an established, successful bakery?

Thanks!

3 replies
Occther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Occther Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 11:18pm
post #2 of 4