Help With This Wedding Order Please

Business By sarascakecreations Updated 14 Jul 2010 , 2:27pm by Lcubed82

sarascakecreations Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 10:07pm
post #1 of 12

Hello,

So I'm fairly new to the wedding cake world... been decorating for a while but this order has me stumped!

I attached a picture of what she wants and I think we are going with 2 12" round cakes, 1 10" round and 1 8" round.... all done in MM fondant with a filling in each... what should I charge? I have the cake pricing matrix but I am yet to figure it out!

Also in terms of the glass vases, what should I do? rent them from somewhere? or should I buy them for myself then charge her some kind of rental fee? Are they even my responsibilty? Is it something I should tell her to get or to ask her hall for?

Please help, I really want to take this order but I am so lost!
LL

11 replies
tootie0809 Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 10:43pm
post #2 of 12

The glass elevators look like upside down glass cylinders to me. Those can be quite expensive, and with a set up like this, I would assume it's not something you'd be using that often to warrant purchasing it yourself for future use. I'd definitely tell the bride the dispay items will be up to her to figure out.

As for the pricing, the 2 "large" cakes don't look like 12 inch cakes to me; they look more like 8 or maybe 9 inches. The smaller ones look like an extra tall 6 inch and a shorter 6 inch. Pricing is one of the most asked questions here, and is very difficult to give a general answer on. What you need to do is figure out the price per serving you are comfortable with and then multiply that by however many servings the cakes will give and charge that amount.

It's a beautiful display! Good luck!

thatslifeca Posted 13 Jul 2010 , 11:04pm
post #3 of 12