Before Delivering The Wedding Cake.....

Business By Dreme Updated 13 Jul 2010 , 6:25am by catlharper

Dreme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dreme Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 3:37pm
post #1 of 8

when is the best time to gather info? When do you call and arrange everything with the wedding planner? When they book the cake with you? The week of the wedding? What questions do you ask? When is the best time to show up? During the ceremony time?

I'm a bit worried as this is my first time delivering a wedding cake on my own as well as staying to cut the cake. At the time when I booked the cake I did not consider asking them who will be serving thier cake. They didn't have anyone to cut it and the food was being served buffet style so im wondering if they have someone to serve it as I will not be doing so. Do people with buffet style weddings hire servers or just eave the cake on the table for thier guest to pick up?

I know as a cake decorator I should know this stuff. I have only delivered two wedding cakes in the past but they were for family. Both had hired servers to pass the cake out and my mom was helping me. I'm freaking out a little bit.

Very nervous and stressing about how everything will go.

7 replies
Skidoochic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skidoochic Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 4:28pm
post #2 of 8

I include information about the reception site, when I can get in and who will "accept" the cake at the time the bride signs the contract. Sometimes they have to get back to me with the information, but I try to get that thought into their heads immediately.

Also, I state in my contract that I do NOT cut the cake. However, the last wedding I attended, the bride did not plan on someone to cut the cake and I got nominated to do it. Not fun! Try to get out of that responsiblity if at all possible. icon_smile.gif

HTH!

jenmat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenmat Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 5:59pm
post #3 of 8