Best Stand Mixer? Kitchen Aid Or Cuisinart?

Decorating By jenniboo Updated 12 Jul 2010 , 3:01pm by jenniboo

jenniboo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenniboo Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 4:13am
post #1 of 4

Hi Ladies and Gentlemen,
I am currently a hobbyist, but would love to decorate cakes as a profession one day. I just started decorating about a year or so ago. Since then, I killed my old hand held mixer and was fortunate enough to receive a used stand mixer as a gift. My mother recently bought a new one for herself and passed along the used one to me. icon_smile.gif However, after a few months I am noticing a crack on one of the beaters. Since this is a very old mixer, I can't find replacements. I have been saving money and have enough to buy my very own, brand new stand mixer. icon_biggrin.gif I'm more than a little excited. icon_smile.gif But I wanted to get some specific reviews from those of you who have been using stand mixers at home/your business and can give accurate feedback. Which brand do you like best? Which model? What qualities make it the best?
Thanks so much in advance for your help! I want to make sure I get the right mixer the first time, because although I've been saving...I don't have enough to buy one that I don't don't really like, and then buy a second one. icon_wink.gif

3 replies
antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 12 Jul 2010 , 9:24am
post #2 of 4

I have both a KitchenAid Pro 6-quart mixer and a 7-quart Cuisinart mixer.

I've had the KitchenAid for over 10 years and I've used it mercilessly nearly every day running a cake business and it's as good as new. That thing is a tank! I like that it is more solid/heavier, metal and doesn't move around on the counter when it's on. (The capacity of the one I bought isn't ideal though. I can do a 2lb recipe of buttercream in it, so I bought an industrial Spar mixer as well as a backup for the business. icon_smile.gif )