My Crumbcoated Cake Is Bulging...now What

Decorating By devorie Updated 11 Jul 2010 , 7:38am by devorie

devorie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
devorie Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 10:21pm
post #1 of 8

I never had this before (but then again, I've never used this recipe before). Should I just frost and fondant as before or should I try to correct it (push the layers back) or should I say screw it to the fondant and just bc it?

7 replies
cjm109 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cjm109 Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 10:26pm
post #2 of 8

There are tons of posts for "buldging" on this site.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 10:43pm
post #3 of 8

if you have let it set for some time, with the crumb coat, and you see the bulge, then cut the bulge( trim it down) then crumb coat a little more. let it set up a little longer , ice and lay on the fondant. hth

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 10:50pm
post #4 of 8

I would remove the excess around the center of the cake where the layers meet and crumbcoat again before I iced and covered with fondant. Did you not make a dam to hold your filling?

devorie Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 11:31pm
post #5 of 8

Thanks for the replies. Issue is, the issue is time. It's for my birthday (dammit, I want a cake and if no one will bake me one, I'll bake my own) and we're having company over in 2 hours. Robin, I made a really thick damn (it was more clay than bc when I piped it) but I did use pudding (another thing that I've never done before). I ended up pushing it back up, and sticking it into the freezer. Now, I am in SoCal and heat is a factor today but I will see what happens. Thanks, again.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 9 Jul 2010 , 11:48pm
post #6 of 8