What To Expect During A Interview For Cake Decorating Job?!?

Business By mariyas_babycakes Updated 12 Jul 2010 , 2:52am by mariyas_babycakes

mariyas_babycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mariyas_babycakes Posted 7 Jul 2010 , 7:55pm
post #1 of 8

icon_smile.gif hello my fellow bakers! I have my very first cake decorating interview tomrw at a local grocery store, needless to say am excited but very nervous. I have never worked for a bakery before so to me this is unknown territory. I love cake decorating and even took some Wilton courses at my local michaels crafts store . Can anyone give me some advice or tips .... What should I expect ? Thanks so much xoxo

7 replies
HobbyCaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HobbyCaker Posted 7 Jul 2010 , 8:13pm
post #2 of 8

Congrats, wishing you success with your interview. Never interviewed for the position, when I did work for a grocery store bakery, the decorator quit and I just started doing the cakes, so no interview as I was already working there. I have read other post on this where they say you might have to do some decorating, border, writing, roses etc. So just go in with confidence and blow them away!

Jamielc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jamielc Posted 7 Jul 2010 , 8:17pm
post #3 of 8

A couple of years ago I interviewed for a cake decorating position ... after the verbal interview, they gave me a cake and some icing and told me to go for it. I didn't get the job because I was still a little to new to the craft and not quite fast enough, though they liked my portfolio, but it was a great experience just the same! Good luck!!

TartletteTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TartletteTreats Posted 7 Jul 2010 , 8:19pm
post #4 of 8

I interviewed for and got a job at a local grocery store as a cake decorator, but didn't end up taking it because it didn't pay enough. I didn't have any experience at the time, though.