Oven Choices--Please Help

Decorating By kjxoxo1 Updated 8 Jul 2010 , 11:44pm by kjxoxo1

kjxoxo1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjxoxo1 Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 12:01am
post #1 of 11

Hi,
I am totally new to baking. But I am in need of a new oven. The oven that I currently have is over 30 years old and it seems as though it is not baking as it should...burning on top of the cake while the middle is not done, etc. At first I thought it was my baking, but it is happening to my mom as well. She says the oven is not up to par. Since this area is new to me, I would like for ideas on what types of ovens everyone has. Mines is a wall oven. I am reading on convections ovens at Lowes, etc. Are convection type ovens especially helpful in baking?? Thanks for any insight. I appreciate it in advance.
Kim

10 replies
Deniro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deniro Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 5:45am
post #2 of 11

I don't know the difference between a convection or regular oven. I think a convection oven circulates the air more through out the oven, but I'm not sure. I think I remeber hearing somwhere that they are hotter as well. I myself have a gas oven, I prefer way over electric stoves. Thats just my opinion. All I know is that if I had the money to choose any stove I wanted it would be a Viking! For now I have to settle with what I have. icon_smile.gif Sorry I couldn't be more help.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 7:30am
post #3 of 11

I have a new kitchenaid convection wall oven and a second oven that is a great electric oven. When I am baking multiple cake layers, cupcakes, and cookies, I usually use both ovens at once. The kitchenaid cakes and cookies are far superior to the standard electric oven. It was $3000, but it does have a second convection/microwave on top.

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 6 Jul 2010 , 12:00pm
post #4 of 11