New To The Cake Decorating Business!

Business By shelley102664 Updated 13 Jul 2010 , 5:22pm by shelley102664

shelley102664 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelley102664 Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 4:46am
post #1 of 13

Hello to my fellow cake decorating professionals! I am new to this business, and I need help from you seasoned professionals. Please give me as much advice as you can in regards to how you started your business, what training have you had,and what challenges have you faced when you were just starting out? I pose this question to those who work out of their homes, what procedures did you have to follow in order to do so? I am so excited to begin new venture in my life, and I just want to be a success! How do you promote your business, and some dos and don'ts in being successful. Thank you all in advance for your help, expertise, and knowledge. I wish you all much success, God Bless! icon_biggrin.gif

12 replies
minicuppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
minicuppie Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 1:24pm
post #2 of 13

The best advice I can give you is to pick a topic and start reading. All of your questions have been answered many, many times.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 3:06pm
post #3 of 13

The first thing you'll need to do is make sure that it is Legal to have a food business out of your home kitchen. From what I have seen on the boards it varies in the state of new york. Check with your local health department or dept. of Ag (depends on which state you're in on who you go through, not sure who it is in New York)

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 3 Jul 2010 , 4:34pm
post #4 of 13

In Monroe County, way north of you, you can bake out of your home. You meed a Home Processing Permit and you can only bake to wholesale and farmer's markets ONLY. And NO advertising whatsoever. I don't even know if you can hang a business name sign at the farmer's market. The ones I see at mine don't.