Getting Paid

Decorating By rocky5777 Updated 2 Jul 2010 , 9:34pm by rocky5777

rocky5777 Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 4:05pm
post #1 of 19

Why is it people don't want to pay for cake? I have been decorating for a few years now, and I keep running into the same problem. Everyone wants me to make them a cake, but no one wants to pay for it. I am way under priced based on the prices on CC. But still no one wants to fork over the dough. Most recently I had a customer want a 2 tier Sweet 16 cake with fondant accents and a crown. I told her it would cost approx. $60.00 (should have been closer to $100.00) and she never got back to me. I have people ordering Sheet cakes ( which I already think is a waste of time) and expect to pay $30.00. I realize sheet cakes take almost no talent but they still take time and ingredients. I actually sat down and figured it out. I make approx. $1.00 a hour on sheet cakes.
I guess I am just wondering how you get paid what you are worth. At this point I am thinking just forget it! I don't have the time or energy to work my butt off on cakes and not ever make any money.

18 replies
ddaigle Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 4:26pm
post #2 of 19

Have to respectfully disagree with ya rocky. I do LOTS of sheet cakes and many of mine do take talent...except for the random, easy kit cakes. You are worth what you market yourself. I get as much for my sheet cakes as some small 2 tiered cakes. I wish I had requests for tiered, fondant cakes, but I don't. I take what I get and sell it accordingly.

But I agree...people have not been educated on prices. There are too many cake shows saturating the public with no price being publicized. I wish for every cake shown on a tv show, that down in the bottom corner of the tv screen, the price would appear.

indydebi Posted 2 Jul 2010 , 4:36pm
post #3 of 19