Cake Due Tomorrow - Suggestions?

Decorating By michel30014 Updated 1 Jul 2010 , 7:52pm by michel30014

michel30014 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michel30014 Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 6:46pm
post #1 of 8

Ok, heres the deal. I have a small cake in my freezer (Im at work right now) and cant remember whether it is angel food cake or pound cake. Just found out we have a girl returning to work that has been on maternity leave. (Shes coming back tomorrow) I thought Id put together this small cake. I already have some vanilla buttercream (all white) already put together and some fondant made. (uncolored at present moment). I was at the baby shower and the colors were brown and baby blue. I am new to this fondant thing, so dont have any cutters yet.

Ok, so does anyone have any suggestions/designs/color themes that I could put together tonight and bring in by tomorrow morning? I feel experienced enough to do this in one night but still want it to show quality work. Can someone help?

7 replies
BeanCountingBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeanCountingBaker Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 6:51pm
post #2 of 8

If you have a heart shaped cookie cutter you could just do some medium to large hearts and pipe "Welcome Back" or even just "BABY" onto the cutouts.

VNatividad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VNatividad Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 6:55pm
post #3 of 8

How about ribbon roses? No cutters needed.

See tutorial: http://www.make-fabulous-cakes.com/fondant-ribbon-roses.html

I don't think you have to stick to the baby shower theme. A nice cake just for her without baby stuff would be nice.

hollyberry91 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollyberry91 Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 6:55pm
post #4 of 8