Fondant Help

Decorating By duriancheesecake Updated 14 Jul 2010 , 2:39pm by Marianna46

duriancheesecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
duriancheesecake Posted 30 Jun 2010 , 6:58am
post #1 of 6

I'm new at fondant/gumpaste. I have worked fondant to make little animals, which worked out well. Doing some research, I realise that a fondant/gumpaste combo will work even better.

I recently purchased a pack of fondant (brand I was not familar with but was willing to give it a try), but it was disastrous. Instead of the animal drying out, it 'melted', at first leaving a shine on the surface, then by the next day it was just too soft to even lift off the mat. I have to add that it was a humid day when I worked on this. I called the shop and they suggested adding more icing sugar. But wouldn't more sugar mean more melt?

My question :

1. why did the animals stand well and dry out beautifully with one brand and not the other? Is it the composition? I did expect it not to dry out as well in the humidity but I certainly did not expect it to melt.

2. can I salvage the rest of the pack (maybe some 800+grams) by kneading in some tylose powder as suggested by some? If so, how much?

3. if tylose fails, what else (aside from laying it on the cake) can I do with it.

Thanks for all advise. I'm still learning.

5 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 11:28pm
post #2 of 6