Any Virginia Folk That Are Licensed And Can Advise Me?

Business By grossoutqueen Updated 12 Jul 2010 , 3:09pm by patpotter

grossoutqueen Posted 30 Jun 2010 , 3:48am
post #1 of 12

I live in Virginia. I have been making cakes for family only for a few years now and I want to be able to sell them also. I am not interested in opening a "shop" or selling 100 cakes a week. I just would like the option to take an order for a cake every now and then. I have made a website and have posted ads so far.

I am not licensed and have written the VA dept of health for info and haven't heard back yet so I am wondering...

In the state of VA what exactly do I need to do to be able to sell cakes on a casual basis legally?

I have NO WHERE NEAR the money that is required to build onto my house or rent a building so none of that would be an option right now...

Thanks for any information that anyone can give me!

11 replies
brensmom12 Posted 30 Jun 2010 , 2:38pm
post #2 of 12

I recently applied with the VA Dept. of Health for working out of my home kitchen. In VA this is legal! When I was starting this process the most difficult part was finding where to get the application. I believe I called the VA Health Dept for my area (Newport News) and they gave me the contact person for the Cooperative Extension.
Once you recieve the packet you have to give them copies of all of your recipes you intend to use. You cannot use any recipies that have not been "certified ok" by them. If you add on recipes you need to submit those at a later date for "certification". They also require a sketch of what your kitchen looks like and a list of the products you will sell (basic - cookies, cakes, cupcakes, brownies, etc.).