Jagged Edges On Buttercream Roses

Decorating By 4n5Teachr Updated 30 Jun 2010 , 2:11am by au_decorator_76

4n5Teachr Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 8:59pm
post #1 of 13

I am fairly new to cake decorating--very much a novice, here! I learned to make buttercream roses in a Wilton class, but my roses always turn out with very jagged, broken edges on the petals. (See picture, attached) I cannot figure out why and am hoping some of you experts can help! I think it must be something with the icing, but I haven't been able to fix it. [/img]
Thanks!
LL

12 replies
DeeDelightful Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 9:08pm
post #2 of 13

Your icing consistency may be too stiff or something is plugging your icing tip. Try thinning your icing just a tad bit.

luddroth Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 9:10pm
post #3 of 13

Right -- a little too much powdered sugar. But I think the roses look very pretty as they are.

DeeDelightful Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 13

Yes, they are very pretty, maybe just not the look you were going for, but there is nothing wrong with them.

TexasSugar Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 9:54pm
post #5 of 13

There are two causes for it.

One: Not enough pressure while piping and turning your nail too fast. If you are not squeezing your bag hard enough and turning fast it will pull and stretch your icing.

Two: Your icing is too dry, which is not the same as too stiff. Roll a small bit of icing between your fingers. Then squish it between your first finger and your thumb. Your icing should feel tacky with maybe just a little bit sticking to your finger. If your icing doesn't feel sticky at all it is too dry. You can fix this by adding in about a tablespoon of crisco or a teaspoon of piping gel to a cup of stiff icing. I go by feel on this. Sometimes you may need a little more or less just depending on how dry your icing is.

To me the jagged edges add character. icon_smile.gif Great job on them!

indydebi Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 9:56pm
post #6 of 13