Wanting To Start A Business...but Where Do I Start??

Business By lyonsbr Updated 5 Jul 2010 , 6:11pm by jodyjeb

lyonsbr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lyonsbr Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 11:21pm
post #1 of 11

I am an elementary school teacher who has recently lost my job due to budget cuts. I have been making cakes out of my home for a couple of years now and have been staying pretty busy with it, especially lately. Not to mention, I LOVE doing it. My husband has been encouraging me to start my own business, but I'm really clueless and don't want to enter in to this lightly. Should I just do cakes or should I do candy too? Can one person handle running a bakery? How much approx does it cost to get one started? Any advice is greatly appreciated. I get so much inspiration from this website. Thanks in advance!

10 replies
awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awatterson Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 11:34pm
post #2 of 11

http://www.ca.uky.edu/agc/pubs/fcs9/fcs9100/fcs9100.pdf

Not sure if you have seen that or not.

Someone posted last week that it cost her $13,000 to start hers, but it would all depend on the prices in your area.

Jamielc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jamielc Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 11:41pm
post #3 of 11

I was a substitute teacher for 4 years and was never able to get a permanent job, and that was a few years ago. Since then, the job market has been getting worse and I don't have much hope of finding work in that field. Discouraged, I took a couple of cake decorating classes to give myself something to do and learn a new skill. Here I am 4 years later with a fun hobby and something to give me some money to pay a few bills while I try to find some sort of a job. I really do love it, but I'm not sure that I'm ready to run my own business yet (outside of what I'm doing now). I really do love it though!