Icing Color "separating"?

Decorating By mtowcs09 Updated 29 Jun 2010 , 2:01pm by TexasSugar

mtowcs09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mtowcs09 Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 4

I'm extremely new to this, meaning I baked my first "real" cake yesterday which was a disaster right down to the icing! I'm attempting to make my son's smash cake for his first birthday and I have about a month to perfect this. I used the Wilton's standard buttercream (followed it to a T) and used this back around easter for cupcakes and it came out fine. The problem this time is that the color wasn't taking correctly. I'm trying to get a bright blue (I bought royal blue dye) and it just wouldn't get primary bright, it looked more marble-y/pearl and you could see white flecks/swirls all throughout the icing. It was also too oily and slick to do anything with it-- sliding off my cake!

Is this typical of their recipe with the blue? Is there any other recipes that will work better for that color and maybe even less sweet/greasy-- I'll mainly be using a bright white for the actual cake? Also curious if cane sugar makes a big difference? I've used powdered sugar and didn't realize there would be a difference until googling.

3 replies
sweettreat101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettreat101 Posted 29 Jun 2010 , 7:40am
post #2 of 4