Using Other's Cake Pictures

Business By gnee_gvc Updated 29 Jun 2010 , 12:48am by Jayde

gnee_gvc Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:34am
post #1 of 19

I'm fairly new at cakes. I've had a couple of quinceanera and wedding cake requests. Since I don't have many personal wedding cake pictures, is it acceptable to present the client with other's cake pictures as ideas?

If I do that, should I tell the client that they are not my cakes or only if they ask? There are several simple cakes online that I like and know I could replicate fairly closely. I don't want to turn off a client because I am a newbie.

How did you start doing consultations before you had pictures to make a portfolio?

18 replies
karateka Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:44am
post #2 of 19

Here is my opinion:

Never use other's pics.

If you do, you must tell clients you didn't do them yourself.

I wouldn't be surprised if you were using other people's pics that you had few clients. I wouldn't order from someone without seeing the quality of THEIR work.

I got started by making cakes for the fam and taking pics of them. You really need a portfolio of stuff you personally have made.

jmo

kkbritt8 Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:44am
post #3 of 19

I think building the portfolio is all part of the fun of cake decorating. Because then you can offer to make cakes for any and every occasion just to gain the experience and exposure. Also, you can buy some cake dummies to decorate and take pictures. These can be reused so you can practice new ideas that you learn and take pictures of that as well.

Right now I mainly decorate for friends and family, but I ALWAYS take pictures of all of my cakes before delivering them. After doing that for a while, you'll find yourself busy on a regular basis and also with a great portfolio to share!

Good luck and have fun with it!

mbark Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 4:46am
post #4 of 19