Thinking Of Serving A Simple Lunch Menu Too...

Business By littlecake Updated 28 Jun 2010 , 6:17pm by sweetartbakery

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 27 Jun 2010 , 11:30pm
post #1 of 8

many days in the beginning of the week it's dead...and i'm an awesome cook icon_redface.gif ...it seems such a waste for the place not to be used.

anyone else doing this?

any words of wisdom?

7 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 12:20am
post #2 of 8

- what other food places are around you?

- Do you rely on foot traffic or drive-by traffic?

- If drive-by, remember that one of your major competitors is not "another food place", it's "another food place with a drive-thru".

- Can you afford or are you willing to stock/prepare food "on spec"? Meaning, you can get all of that salad/sandwich produce and fixin's in, but unless you do a volume that will use up the suppliers' min buy, you're likely to have a lot of waste...... it's why I never contemplated becoming a sandwich shop, as some suggested to me.

- Would it be carry out only or would you have some eat-in? If eat-in, check with your health dept on any changes you might have to make with your licensing and/or shop design. what I'm talking about here is restroom access. Since I had no eat-in business, it was ok to have a restroom at the back of my kitchen. Had I offered any eat-in service, I would have had to install a handicap accessible restroom at the FRONT of the shop for customers. The estimate on this expense was $9000.

- Have you run the numbers via a business plan to see how much you'd have to sell per day to justify being open for the lunch crowd?

- Marketing plan to let people know?

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 28 Jun 2010 , 1:38am
post #3 of 8

i was hoping you'd answer!