Newbie Looking For Guidance!

Decorating By gavsgirl Updated 1 Jul 2010 , 2:10am by Jamielc

gavsgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gavsgirl Posted 25 Jun 2010 , 8:55pm
post #1 of 14

I am coming here as I'm as new as new can be. I can make a cake. I used to decorate with piping gels when I was younger. Being an artist by trade (I draw portraits) someone once asked me to draw a few characters on their cake. I gave it a shot, word got around and it was my gig for a few years till I moved away. I am interested in learning to use fondant. I bought all the supplies to make MMF but I'm too afraid to get on with the process. All the supplies I bought are staring me in the face and I feel like I'm trying to learn chinese or something lol My sons 3rd birthday is in august and he's requested a "toy story" cake so I wanted to try to practice to see if it's even possible. I have an entire cake drawn out (I guess it's the artist in me lol) but I don't even know where to start. I want to do a cake, 2 small tiers, with fondant cut-out characters around the sides. Not being a cake maker I'm sure I'm not using proper terms. What would you tell a newbie? Where should I start? What do I need to know about MMF? Is my idea completely out of reach for someone of my level? lol I guess I'm just looking for guidance. I have about a month and a half, and if I have to practice every day, I will lol It's always something I wanted to do, I finally took the step but I'm too nervous to try and execute it. Please guide the newbie!

Thanks in advance,
Kristen

13 replies
metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 25 Jun 2010 , 9:04pm
post #2 of 14

if you've never used fondant, i'd suggest buying a little from the store first (e.g. a box of wilton ready-made fondant). this will give you an idea of the texture you'll need to shoot for when making your own. start with small, simple goals so you can teach yourself this new medium. have fun!!!