Help With Chess Board Cake

Decorating By picakes Updated 5 Jul 2010 , 1:11am by tame

picakes Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 4:02pm
post #1 of 19

I'm really new to decorating and I'm attempting to do a chess board cake for a friend for this weekend. I've been working on making all the chess pieces out of chocolate, so I think I have that part figured out. I am planning on doing a single layer 10" square cake for the chess board. The chess board squares will need to cover the entire top of the cake so the squares will be big enough for the pieces. I am planning to marble brown and tan fondant to cover the sides and as the brown squares on the top and use white fondant for the white squares. Here is my question - how do I cover the cake to get the best look? Do I cover the whole cake in the marbled fondant and then add the white squares to the top? Do I cover the sides with the marbled fondant and then cover the top with the squares? I don't know how to cover just the sides, so I'm not even sure if that's possible. Any suggestions would be welcome. Thank you!

18 replies
yummy Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 4:25pm
post #2 of 19

Welcome to cc picakes!

I would do the marble fondant around the sides with the seam in the back; then do individual squares for the top. Can I give a suggestion? I would do brown and tan squares to match the marbling. Post a picture when your finish.

KathysCC Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 4:53pm
post #3 of 19

I made a chess cake. Here is a photo of it.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1210647

You may find that a 10-inch square cake is a very tight fit for the chess pieces. My cake was a 12-inch square and the pieces just fit, with no room to spare.

Mine was covered with chocolate buttercream first but I certainly learned a lot.