To Buy Or Not To Buy

Decorating By annabanana183 Updated 24 Jun 2010 , 7:31pm by TexasSugar

annabanana183 Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 9:42am
post #1 of 12

I am thinking of getting an airbrush kit, any tips, tricks and brand suggestions would be great.
or do you think its a big purchase for just a hobby, icon_redface.gif
Thank in advance

11 replies
KHalstead Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 12:20pm
post #2 of 12

don't have many tips on WHICH one to buy, mine was given to me and I have a kopykake airmaster compressor and an Iwata gun and I love them!!

I use my airbrush on a minimum of 95% of my cakes! 2/3 of them have color sprayed on, the rest of them have pearl spray added on once the cake is done. Not sure WHAT I'd do without my airbrush!!

bobwonderbuns Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 12:40pm
post #3 of 12

Mine was an anniversary gift from DH several years ago and I just love it. I'd suggest looking at for some basic lessons in using the airbrush. Mine is the Kopykake airmaster and like KHalstead, I love mine.

yums Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 12:54pm
post #4 of 12

I have a Masters kit G23-22. I bought it brand new off ebay for $50. Works great, very simple to use and clean. Came with 4 colors.

leah_s Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 1:00pm
post #5 of 12

Meh, mine's broken at the moment. It was uber expensive and I've used it very little.

TexasSugar Posted 24 Jun 2010 , 2:21pm
post #6 of 12

My thoughts are....

1. Why do you want one?
2. How many cakes have you done where you said oh man I wish I had an airbrush?

It is so easy to get caught up in how great a product can be but we have to remember how likely we are to really use it. When you do it as a hobby you have to consider how many cakes you do and if it is really worth it.

I will say, I do love my airbrush and am happy I have it. I haven't used it on every cake, which is totally fine with me. But there are a few times where I was really happy I had it.

Now the edible printer I bought, I have used it all of two times I think. icon_sad.gif