How Do You Know Your Ready To Start Your Business?

Business By cakeglitz Updated 21 Jun 2010 , 7:13pm by cakeglitz

cakeglitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeglitz Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 3:23pm
post #1 of 11

I'm very new to cake decorating. I started approx. 5 months ago...and at the age of 47 I think I've finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up lol!!! I've never enjoyed something so much!! I am absolutely loving cake decorating but I'm wandering if this is just the "Honeymoon Stage"? everyone and when I say everyone...I mean everyone keeps telling me that I need to start a business but I don't want to get burned out. Right now it's a hobby and I love it...however, it's an expensive hobby. I work full time but seriuosly...I have cakes on my mind 24 hours a day...designs running through my head that I want to try....I wake up in the morning and I start thinking about what I want to try next. I know that I have sooooo much more to learn but how much more before I even consider the idea of a business??? For those of you who started your businesses, how long did you give yourselves before you started up and how did you know you were ready?

10 replies
sarkee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarkee Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 3:29pm
post #2 of 11

I am so with you on the consuming thoughts. I see something so totally not related to cake decorating and think...that would be cute on a cake. It's a sickness. LOL I work full time as well and could never give up the benefits I have, but would love to. Hope it all works out well for you!

egensinnig Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
egensinnig Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 3:35pm
post #3 of 11

I had that for my first 6-7 months of decorating....but it wore off....I dreamt and thought of cake, colors, designs, textures, flavours and so on 24 h a day. Totally consumed by mu cake love.