Licensed Characters

Business By ambermbauman Updated 21 Jun 2010 , 8:34pm by ambermbauman

ambermbauman Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 2:50pm
post #1 of 7

I have been doing cakes on the side for a few years now, but last year I took a 3 hour business course because I do eventually want to make my living doing cakes. My instructor informed us that you cannot sell the character cakes or if someone asked for a "Cinderella cake" you couldn't just simply free-hand Cinderella because Disney doesn't make any money off of it. She did say that if you purchased a Disney item to place on the cake that it was okay because then they make money from it. Is this correct? I made a Cinderella doll cake, which is in my photos, for my daughter this year, and I bought a Cinderella doll instead of using the ones like you would buy from Wilton. Would I legally be able to sell a cake by using toys as decorations?

6 replies
hvanaalst Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 3:54pm
post #2 of 7

You are not legally allowed to reproduce any licensed characters to sell without permission. You are not allowed to use wilton character pans/accessories for cakes to sell either (they say on them something about home use only). You can use the cake kits like the bakeries use. If you want to have toys on the cake, I believe you need to have the customer purchase them and also put them on themselves.

With all that being said, I find it amazing how many people advertise these kind of things and think nothing of it. That is why people expect you can do it.

robyndmy Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 4:16pm
post #3 of 7

What you can do is decorate the cake in the colours and themes of the character, but like your instructor and hvanaalst said, the customer can buy the toy and place it on the cake. That way the corporations are getting their money from the purchased toy.