Not A Disaster In My Eyes...what Do You Think

Decorating By cabecakes Updated 29 Jun 2010 , 6:50pm by Btrfly578

cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 2:08am
post #1 of 36

I am not a professional cake designer by any sense of the word, I do it for family and friends. I have sold a few, but not nearly enough to make any real money at it. I made a wedding cake for my step-daughter's wedding yesterday. I had hours invested in this cake. I set the cake up on a table outside (which I didn't want to do...especially since it was about 90 degrees out). The cake sat outside in this heat for 4 hours before they finally got around to cutting it...and someone has the audacity to say my cake looked like crap. I thought it was holding up quite well considering the circumstances. The picture is in my photos. I just wondered what you thought. It is the yellow and green, 4 tier oval wedding cake. My step-daughter just loved it...and I thought it looked great...but by the time it sat there all that time it began to (for the lack of a better term) look squatty. It looked as though maybe the icing were melting and bulging the fondant a little. But I didn't think it looked like crap. I was very hurt. I thought that it showed very poor taste to make a comment like that if they didn't know who made the cake and whether they could be standing within hearing distance of their nasty comment. Where are some peoples manners.
LL

35 replies
ArtsyLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ArtsyLady Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 2:18am
post #2 of 36

I think it looks beautiful! And your step daughter loved it and isn't she the only one who matters? icon_smile.gif

preppie523 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
preppie523 Posted 21 Jun 2010 , 2:25am
post #3 of 36