Cake Delivery Issue...grrr

Decorating By letamyeatcake Updated 25 Jun 2010 , 4:48pm by rkei

letamyeatcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
letamyeatcake Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 10:50pm
post #1 of 16

So I am a hobbyist. I've done four weddding cakes and scores of others. I agreed to do a wedding cake for the daughter of a gentleman my husband works with and did my best to handle everything professionally. I requested and received a detailed email from the bride early on with date, address of reception hall, contact names and phone numbers. Her email said set up for the reception wase from 430 to 530 pm. At 505 pm as I am pulling up to the reception hall the bride and groom were in the car behind me!!!

The wedding party was waiting in the entry way, and the guests were waiting in the reception hall with drinks. I apologized to the bride, but reminded her what the email said. She didn't seem bothered at all and asked if I needed help. I enlisted a teenage boy to help me carry it all in. I assembled four tiers and stuck in the gumpaste flowers in a hurry with an audience watching. I didn't get to pipe the bead border betweeen tiers. I did take a minute to snap a picture.

The DJ who was keeping things running, apologized and told me that things had got moved up an hour and to take my time, and he wouldn't introduce the wedding party until I was done. Glad I wore an apron today so at least my cotton shirt and capris were clean. I saw the tables for the food but no sign of food or a caterer.

15 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 11:13pm
post #2 of 16

Holy Cow...they moved it up an hour and didn't tell the vendors!!! Wow...yeah, they better NOT complain! UGH!

cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 19 Jun 2010 , 11:36pm
post #3 of 16