Cake Pricing/business Information

Business By ArtsyLady Updated 21 Jun 2010 , 1:46am by ArtsyLady

ArtsyLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ArtsyLady Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 10:20pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, I'm new to Cake Central but I've been doing cakes for family and friends for awhile. I'd like to start doing it as a business and I'm having trouble with my pricing. It seems like if I start out with a base price, say $2 per serving and the person needs 30 servings, by the time I get finished with the cake it seems like I've undercharged. I'm thinking of just doing a flat price on the sculpted cakes and saying it serves, say, 50 people and if they need more cake than that I'd just offer a sheet cake for cutting. I'm confused about how to go about the pricing and not lose money. Any advice would be great!
I'm mostly just working everything out on paper before I get serious about looking into opening a shop and getting licensed and all that. If it doesn't look like I'm going to make a profit then I might stick to family. If any of you who have shops could give me some insights on whether it's worth it to run a cake shop, please let me know before I get in too deep! Thanks ya'll!

4 replies
etr2002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
etr2002 Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 10:31pm
post #2 of 5

I can't help you on the business side of things as I'm a hobbiest, but I noticed where you live - I was born in LaFayette, GA (well, Ft. Oglethorpe but we lived in LaFayette). I still have lots of family there. Welcome to the board!

Erica

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 10:53pm
post #3 of 5

It sounds like you pulled the $2/serving out of the air. And that's normal for when folks are just getting started.