Houndstooth

Decorating By shanney54 Updated 18 Jun 2010 , 11:59am by idocakes4fun

shanney54 Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 9:42am
post #1 of 5

One of my friends is getting married at the end on next month. She sent me a message on fb about me making the groom's cake. This will be my first cake that someone has asked me to do, wedding or non-wedding, so I am very excited and nervous! They are thinking of have a red velvet cake with houndstooth on the top and a big Alabama "A" on top. I think the cake she's wanting is like this: http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1456097

I am pretty confident that I can pull this off, except the houndstooth! I don't have an edible printer so I can't print one and I'm not sure who I could get to make one. I am pretty new to fondant and am not comfortable using an exacto knife to cut one out. Has anyone found a houndstooth cookie cutter? If I used a stencil wouldn't I smear the design when I put the "A" on top? This might be a silly but is there a houndstooth impression mat and roller? I would be willing to take the time to go back and paint the black on if i had a design to go by. Sorry for all the info, but I just want my cake to turn out as good as I can make it! TIA

4 replies
leepat Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 10:26am
post #2 of 5

I have looked and looked on the internet and have not been able to find what you are talking about. I finally gave up and bought edible image sheet for my cake. You can buy them from Lucks or Pfeil and Holing. Good luck.

pat

shanney54 Posted 18 Jun 2010 , 11:08am
post #3 of 5