Hmmm - Rkt Sheet Or Gumpaste To "wrap" Around A Ca

Decorating By BACI Updated 20 Jun 2010 , 8:21pm by KayMc

BACI Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 10:12pm
post #1 of 3

Hi all - I am making (ok - attempting to make) a Roman Coloseum cake for Sat.. I have 2 ideas that I was thinking of for wrapping/curving around 1/2 the cake to become the main outer wall. I have a sheet of RKT I was thinking of using or gumpaste & then adding an edible image of the coloseum.
My concerns are:
1) I know the gumpaste will be thinner & easier to adhere but I've never worked with gumpaste before (only fondant)!! so I'm hesitant... Will it have enough time to harden by then? Are there any tricks?

2) What is the best way to adhere the RKT to the cake & board? I was thinking skewers in to the cake & some icing on the board. Maybe?

Will either hold up in the heat?

Saw a few really nice coloseum cakes here, so figured I'd ask. Haven't done much baking lately (a hobby) & last few times I did I became frustrated! SOOOO I was hoping you may be able to help me get "unstuck" & get moving - if not... it's cupcakes for everyone! LOL
Thank you in advance!!!!!!

2 replies
Marianna46 Posted 20 Jun 2010 , 8:01pm
post #2 of 3