I Really Stink At Piping....

Decorating By KayMc Updated 16 Jul 2010 , 6:18am by Unlimited

KayMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayMc Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 2:46am
post #1 of 61

I am a newbie - have done 5 cakes now. The first 4 have had gum paste flowers, and they were ok. I didn't mind taking pictures of them, and taking the cakes out for others to see. I also just started Wilton classes, because I wanted to learn piping. The bottom line is that I really stink at piping. The cake I made in class with the nasty cupcake looked like a ten year old made it. (I came home and scraped it all off of the top of cake and applied a fondant bow I'd made.) Tonight I decorated a cake and did it all with icing instead of any gumpaste decorations. Again, it really sucks. It's just not pretty.

Do any of you have a piping problem? Is practice, practice, practice the only solution? How many cakes will I waste in this proces..... icon_cry.gif

60 replies
tesso Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tesso Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 2:52am
post #2 of 61

I am sorry you are having piping problems.. I think we all have at some poing or another..

good news though !! you dont have to waste cake to learn..and yes PRACTICE is the only way to get better.. Go to walmart find yourself a very cheap.. 50 cent foam plastic place mat and pipe away. Wipe it off when done, or toss in dishwasher and it is ready to practice again. I used it to practice making rose buds.. I still hate them.. but I learned to do them. I also used my cheap place mat to practice making drop flowers, piping swags you name it. Now get off the computer and go give me 50 lines of scallops... icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

KayMc Posted 17 Jun 2010 , 2:57am
post #3 of 61

Tesso, you crack me up! Of course!! What a great idea! I wish I'd thought of it! I will buy that plastic placemat and practice. Thank God - I was thinking I'd be wasting cakes out the whazoo! Thanks again!

HamSquad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile