Hi!! I'm New!!

Decorating By prip Updated 6 Sep 2005 , 6:29am by tanyascakes

prip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prip Posted 31 Aug 2005 , 3:41pm
post #1 of 20

Hi Everyone!! I'm new to Cake Central. I ran across this website when I was searching the internet trying to find cake ideas. My daughter is turning 9 tomorrow and she wanted a Bratz Birthday Cake. For some reason they are very popular now.

I've only baked one cake from scratch and two key lime pies in my entire lifetime. LOL....BUT...the things we do for our kids. Your website has prompted me to actually bake a cake!! And decorate it too!! I'm going to try the Durable Cake recipe and the Dream Whip Icing. As for the Bratz cake idea, well I've decided to be a little creative. I'm actually going to put a "real" Bratz Doll on the cake..holding real balloons. Yeah...I'm curious on how it's going to turn out too! LOL But I will sure take pics and post!

Here's my questions....I want to make a sheet cake and I was wondering if I could use two square cake pans and put them together? Also, what is the best utensil to use to frost the cake?

Thanks!!

prip

19 replies
mpitrelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mpitrelli Posted 31 Aug 2005 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 20

you could use 2 pans but you should cut them and frost them together to get them to look like a sheet cake that might work. as for frosting the cake I use wiltons frosting time and then smooth with a large spatula. the biggest thing is trying to make the cake level and fit together.

prip Posted 31 Aug 2005 , 7:17pm
post #3 of 20

Thanks for you help!! I will definitely try this. Anything will help.

irisinbloom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
irisinbloom Posted 31 Aug 2005 , 7:32pm
post #4 of 20

prip, Welcome to CC, there is an abundance of help and good people here, mpitrelli is on track with the trimming idea. Just cut a little off each end, ice and butt together.Good luck on your cakeicon_smile.gif