Suggestions For Jelly As A Filling

Decorating By mahlmann Updated 15 Jun 2010 , 4:41pm by letsgetcaking

mahlmann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mahlmann Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:03pm
post #1 of 8

Hi! My friend would like a cake with raspberry as a filling. I have never done this before. Any suggestions on how to best do this. Will the cake get soggy? Should I use a recipe or just jam from a jar?

Thanks!

7 replies
Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:12pm
post #2 of 8

There's lots of recipes here for raspberry fillings but I have used seedless raspberry preserves from a jar. I put a very thin layer of buttercream between the cake layers and the preserves and there was no sogginess at all.

nonilm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nonilm Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:21pm
post #3 of 8

I use straight jam from a jar all the time. Everyone loves it. It does soak into the cake just a tiny bit, but does not make it soggy, there is still a definite layer. I use buttercream to build a dam and fill with jam, not too thick because then your layers will be slipping and sliding all over the place. I just stir the jam in the jar so it will better spread. And seedless is a must!

mahlmann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mahlmann Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:33pm
post #4 of 8

Thanks for the tips. Will this work for a stacked cake or will it slip too much?

letsgetcaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
letsgetcaking Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:35pm
post #5 of 8

I like using a jar of seedless raspberry jam mixed with a small box (I think 3 oz. size) of raspberry jello. Just heat jam in a glass bowl in the microwave for 20-30 seconds until it's warm, then stir in the jello powder. It sets up well and tastes delicious! I put it straight onto the cake (without a thin buttercream layer) and haven't had a problem with it soaking into the cake.

matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:39pm