What's The Best Way To Tackle This Cake?

Decorating By nicolecat Updated 18 Jun 2010 , 1:26pm by nicolecat

nicolecat Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 7:06pm
post #1 of 32

I want to make an iphone shaped cake for my husband, since the new iphone is coming out next week.

I've found a few images of iphone cakes that have been made before...but I can't firgure out what the best way to tackle it would be.
I am a complete noobie to the whole cake decoration, and have only ever tinkered with the squeeze tubes of colored icing.

I was thinking some pre-rolled fondant might be the way to go, and to paint the icons as needed...but the colors I want to achieve are bold, and I don't want it to look to watercolored.

Here's a link to google images that I've perused.
http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&q=iphone%20cake&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi

What are your opinions?...should I just go to the local publix and have them print an edible image to use? ...or maybe do this for the background to place the apps made in fondant onto...

(Note: I'm a graphic artist, and can draw and paint decently already...I've just never dabbled in the edible side of art)

31 replies
GL79 Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 7:35pm
post #2 of 32

Why not try making a small cake first and see how it turns out. I would do the icons on edible image then cut them out and glue to fondant (the same shape as the icon) and then glue to cake. The only thing I would not do is buy ready to use fondant from Wilton. If you decide to paint, then make sure u use vodka with the food coloring. Hope someone else can give you better advice.

sweettreat101 Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 7:38pm
post #3 of 32

There are several places on Ebay that will print any image for you on edible icing sheets. I would have an image of the face of the phone printed and make the rest in cake and fondant.

catlharper Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 7:40pm
post #4 of 32