Federal Tax Id # And Vendors License Questions

Business By cakegroove Updated 15 Jun 2010 , 1:51pm by costumeczar

cakegroove Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegroove Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 6:15pm
post #1 of 6

I am new to this business. I am working out of my home under the pretense of "Cottage Foods". I have recently insured myself. I have cake jobs lined up through September currently. I would like to start purchasing things in bulk but the places I want to go, require a vendors license. If I am researching properly, acquiring a vendors license requires me to have a Federal Tax ID number? Here's my question(s): If I am not charging tax for my food product, why do I have to sign up for a Federal Tax ID number? Can I get a vendors license without having a Federal Tax ID number? Thanks for any advice.

5 replies
BeanCountingBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeanCountingBaker Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 6

A federal tax ID number has nothing to do with sales tax. This is the number associated with the sales or profit you will be reporting as income to you or your business. In some instances you can use your social security number as your tax number. In the case of a vendor's license that may be a state requirement or a food service requirement, I can't be of help in that matter. I recommend you ask a local accountant about obtaining a FEIN number and whether you need to take this step at this time.

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 4:28am
post #3 of 6

www.IRS.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,ID=98350.html

elvisb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elvisb Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 5:02am
post #4 of 6