Pricing For Specialty Cakes

Decorating By jendardis Updated 16 Jun 2010 , 2:26pm by leily

jendardis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jendardis Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone. i am pretty new to the business. I have only done white and chocolate cakes and priced my cakes accordingly. I got a call for a spice cake for this weekend and am not sure if I should add to the price. She wants a 10" cake with cream cheese icing and it decorated too. I would normally charge for a 10" white cake iced in buttercream with all buttercream decorations $40. I know I need to charge extra, because the list of ingredients is crazy. Please let me know what you think!

Jen

6 replies
CWIL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWIL Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 7

We don't charge extra for most flavors, but for something like a carrot cake, it costs more, cream cheese icing costs more. So, to answer your question, if it were me, there would only be an extra charge for the cream cheese icing. HTH

cakeville82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeville82 Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 5:51pm
post #3 of 7

A 10" round serves 38 so you are charging $1.05 per serving?

How does that even cover your costs?

First of all I would completely re-think your pricing structure and secondly yes charge more for specialty ingredients.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 15 Jun 2010 , 1:55am
post #4 of 7

If you don't know if you should charge more for the flavor, do you know how much it is going to cost you to make it? Do you know how much it cost you to make your white and chocoalte? You'll need to know the difference before you can decide to charge more or the same.