Using Marzipan Rather Than Fondant?

Decorating By Hollandy Updated 15 Jun 2010 , 8:38am by tipsytaartje

Hollandy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hollandy Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 7:54am
post #1 of 7

I live in the Netherlands and went to a cake store this weekend that sold Wilton products but rather than colored fondant (I want primary colors so thought pre-dyed would be the best route for me, as a beginner) the had marzipan in the primary colors. When I asked if they carried the colored fondant they said no, everybody uses marzipan. They only had black and white fondant (but the supplies to dye it myself, which I was trying to avoid doing).

Can you forsee any problems with using marzipan over fondant? I have zero experience with marzipan, besides eating it every now and then but from what I remember, I always thought marzipan was a big grittier, not as smooth and was sweeter than what I would get with fondant, but maybe the Dutch know something I don't?

6 replies
Cakechick123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakechick123 Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 12:55pm
post #2 of 7

are you sure it marzipan (almond paste)?? Maybe they mixed up marzipan and sugarpaste. AFAIK fondant is called sugarpaste in Europe, so maybe the shop assistant was confused when you asked for fondant.

the type of marzipan I know is grittier than sugarpaste and also dont colour as well,its a creamy pale yellow paste to begin with, so a test run might be the safest way to go.
HTH

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 14 Jun 2010 , 3:42pm
post #3 of 7

In the book Cakewalk by Margaret Braun she uses either fondant or marzipan interchangeably. I could not see a difference in the photos in the book. I also know that if you can get your hands on any books from the UK that a lot of them show putting a layer of marzipan over the cake like fondant and then covering it with Royal Icing. Again I saw no difference between the marzipan and fondant in the photos.

HTH