Do You Bake From Scratch Or Use A Box Mix?

Decorating By MJTKNT Updated 14 Jun 2010 , 3:06am by jerseygirlNga

MJTKNT Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 3:54pm
post #1 of 15

I'm an extreme beginner in the cake world. I've always loved baking, and I've always appreciated the taste of a cake made from scratch compared to that of a box cake. I've always felt that you could taste the difference. Anyway though- I started a Wilton class this last week and was actually really surprised to hear the instructor say that she only ever uses box cakes for her cakes, and has never been able to get a cake made from scratch to set up and bake right. She makes and sells her cakes, so she's not just a hobbyist. All of the other ladies said they only use box cakes as well. In my naive mind, I always thought bakers would be the ones to do a scratch cake, but I've learned this last week that that's not always the now I'm curious- what do you do?

Box or scratch and why?

If you use box, do you add to it to make it taste different, or just bake as instructed?

How do you know what to add if you do?

14 replies
njoycakes Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 4:12pm
post #2 of 15

Personally I always bake from scratch, but then again I'm in the UK, I don't think our box mixes are as economical as they are over in the US. I'm not sure many people use box mixes in the UK.

mil5nov Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 4:13pm
post #3 of 15

1.Taste much better
2.Less chemical stuff inside- cake is fresher=healthier

ladycakes85 Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 4:16pm
post #4 of 15

Unless you want to be part of a heated debate, I would just avoid this question. There have been several of this same inquiry in past forums and people who prefer one way over another have very strong opinions about it. Check out past postings on this in the forums. You'll have plenty to read icon_wink.gif