Best tasting recipe for decorating?

Decorating By a_blonde_betty_boop Updated 10 Mar 2005 , 4:18pm by Lisa

a_blonde_betty_boop Posted 23 Feb 2005 , 3:21pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to decorating and I was wondering what icing would look good and taste good? When I buy store bought cakes, I like the taste of the whipped cream icing, but I have been told it is harder to decorate with. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

10 replies
kate Posted 23 Feb 2005 , 7:40pm
post #2 of 11

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1948-23-Butter-Cream-with-real-butter-for-decorators.html
This is similar to what I use. I adjust the butter content depending on how hot it is outside and whether it is for a cake that needs to sit outside or not. I use less butter on hot days and add more crisco. I use different flavorings depending on the flavor of the cake. My favorites are almond, coconut and orange. Try different combinations of flavors. I use milk instead of water also, the sugar keeps it from spoiling.

diane Posted 23 Feb 2005 , 9:35pm
post #3 of 11

coconut!! i have never thought of using coconut. when and with what flavor cake do you use it with?

kate Posted 23 Feb 2005 , 11:03pm
post #4 of 11

I mix it with the orange and almond and it gives a tropical flavor. I use it with a lot of flavors of cake and everyone that has had it really likes it.

tcturtleshell Posted 24 Feb 2005 , 5:02am
post #5 of 11

Ohhh, coconut is sooo good!! There are a lot of other extracts too but you have to go to a baking store like in the mall. Yummy!!

Susan94 Posted 25 Feb 2005 , 1:30am
post #6 of 11

also add more vanilla extract and less of the butter. I also add 2 TB of meringue powder to it.

midwestmom Posted 10 Mar 2005 , 3:06pm
post #7 of 11

What is "butter flavor"?

Mchelle Posted 10 Mar 2005 , 3:14pm
post #8 of 11