I Broke My Ballerina's Foot... :(

Decorating By sweetheart76 Updated 16 Jun 2010 , 1:44pm by ddaigle

sweetheart76 Posted 11 Jun 2010 , 2:18pm
post #1 of 8

Hi guys! I'm new to cake decorating and enjoying this hobby until... today. sigh.

I had my first cake order from a good friend and the theme was "Swan Lake"... and well, everything went BAD... the fondant wasn't cooperative at all, and fell apart (too soft) on my first attempt. I salvaged whatever I could and junked the rest that had buttercream on them. My second attempt at it wasn't great too icon_sad.gif This was the worst-looking covering I had done for a cake (covered about 8 cakes so far, all for gifts!). Very disappointing.

But the worse was yet to come. I had great ideas for this cake... like, how a ballerina would be perched on top of it one-footed. Yeah, I think I got too ambitious. Made all items out of gumpaste a week in advance, and did a trial assembly this morning before I drove it to the venue. The toothpick and the foot couldn't hold the weight of, well, just about the whole ballerina! I tried stuffing a straw and jamming the toothpick at the edge of the foot in it, didn't work as well. Meddled with it a tad too much, and the foot broke in front of me. My heart just sank!!!

In the end, I had no choice but to improvise - broke one leg (ouch!) and mended her foot with lots of edible glue, and put her in a kneeling position. It didn't look that bad but I had really wanted her in that classic ballerina pose! Perhaps someone could point out what I did wrong - I am getting very discouraged *sobs* Thanks guys!!! icon_smile.gif
LL
LL
LL

7 replies
brincess_b Posted 11 Jun 2010 , 2:39pm
post #2 of 8

the most important lesson in cake decorating is how to go with the flow and react to your mistakes so no one but you will ever know. and it looks like you know that one already icon_smile.gif