Help I Have Bitten Off More Than I Can Chew!!!

Decorating By kaseysweetkissbakery Updated 11 Jun 2010 , 1:05pm by kaseysweetkissbakery

kaseysweetkissbakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaseysweetkissbakery Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 3:08pm
post #1 of 14

I am hoping that someone out there can help me out...

Okay so my godson's birthday is in July and I am making the cake (well, cakes) for his party. I wish I could put the blame on someone else, but somehow I got the bright idea to design three cakes. My godson is obsessed with Spongebob... as most kids are. So I am supposed to be making three different cakes. One is Spongebobs pineapple shapped house, the other is patricks rock house. I am not worried about those at all. I am worried about doing Squidwards house I am new to caking and have never carved cake before. Does anyone have any suggestion on how to carve that one or maybe even a template.

Each cake will be on a seperate cake board and will be connected to one another at time of set-up. Boards will be covered in a sandy colored fondant with the theme song piped all aroung the edges...

What did I get myself into...

13 replies
suz3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suz3 Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 6:11pm
post #2 of 14

I don't know what Squidwards house looks like (should coz spongebob is my granddaughters fav) but recently I had to make a giant shark cookie. I found a picture and then just used it to freehand a giant template. I used a cake board and just cut around it. I think maybe you could do the same sort of thing. Maybe you would have to do pieces like front sides. But I think that could work for the cake too. Good luck!!!!

cerasmiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cerasmiles Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 6:22pm
post #3 of 14