Am I The Only One?

Decorating By Rhiannon1121 Updated 10 Jun 2010 , 6:41pm by eccl1-12

Rhiannon1121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rhiannon1121 Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 3:42am
post #1 of 13

There is so much talent here on CC, it is sometimes overwhelming!! icon_lol.gif I am going to school to be a professional pastry chef, but i really want to focus mainly on cakes. Have others of you gone to school for this or are you self-taught? Sometimes i feel it would have been better to just teach myself!! Exspecially right now, in class we are learning how to make soups and stocks and grill meat things i could care less about!! I wanna learn sugar art and chocolate modeling!!! icon_lol.gif Sorry just had to vent to people i hope who understand my frustrations!! icon_surprised.gif

12 replies
madgeowens Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
madgeowens Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 4:03am
post #2 of 13

I am self taught. Don't they have pastry chef school? I think those other skills will come in handy as well though. Good luck

mbark Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbark Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 4:04am
post #3 of 13

Hi!
I learned the basics of filling & icing cakes, doing borders, bc roses etc working at a grocery store bakery, but beyond that I have self-taught tiered cakes & all the fondant work I have done. Pretty much thanks to CC- good luck deciding what to do!

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 4:29am
post #4 of 13

Like mbark I also worked in a grocery store bakery and learned the "basics" there. I'm self taught with the help of cc with everything else.

ksmith1012 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ksmith1012 Posted 10 Jun 2010 , 4:40am
post #5 of 13

Hey there!