Im New What 2 Do?

Decorating By Poptartz Updated 10 Jun 2010 , 4:35am by Poptartz

Poptartz Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 4:05pm
post #1 of 9

Hello I just got hired by the local walmart and i have no experience in baking or cake decorating. I do however have a love and passion for learning and will do my best. I also adore sugar sculping although Ive never tried it I also sketch cake designs. Im just curious as to what Walmart will want me to do.

8 replies
catlharper Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 4:16pm
post #2 of 9

No idea since I've never worked for WM but in whatever baking experience you are in just learn everything you possibly can and ask any and all quesitons of those who have been doing it for a long time. Chances are you will get some great basic training there.

bbmom Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 4:17pm
post #3 of 9

Congrats on the new job.

leily Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 4:18pm
post #4 of 9

what were you hired to do? Decorate cakes? or for soemthing else in the bakery?

I used to work in a couple different ones and have done everything at one time or another. I can help give you an idea of what I did, but need to know what they hired you for icon_smile.gif

mamawrobin Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 4:45pm
post #5 of 9

IF you were hired to "decorate" cakes more than likely you will be doing kit cakes only. That requires piping shell borders, buttercream roses and minimal piping skills. You may also be required to ice the cake but since they use the icer tip and ice frozen cakes it's really easy to do. I'm not sure if all Wal-Marts are the same but the ones here don't do "custom" cakes so you'll be required to look at a photo in a book and recreate it.

If you're not going to be decorating cakes then I have no idea what they will require of you. icon_smile.gif

JGMB Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 5:10pm
post #6 of 9

Welcome to Cake Central, poptartz, and congratulations on your new job!!!

Rose_N_Crantz Posted 9 Jun 2010 , 5:16pm
post #7 of 9