Sticking Fondant Etc. To Cake Surfaces

Decorating By StephsCakes72 Updated 16 Jun 2010 , 11:24am by StephsCakes72

StephsCakes72 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StephsCakes72 Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 12:04pm
post #1 of 14

Hello all,

I was wondering if there is a another way to "glue" fondant and other decorations to cakes other than using buttercream. Is there something clear? I'm pretty new to cake decorating. When I use buttercream, it shows through the sides and seems a little messy.

Thanks in advance for your help. icon_smile.gif

13 replies
CandyCU Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CandyCU Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 12:32pm
post #2 of 14

Hi Missymaam,

If you're wanting to stick fondant to fondant, water usually works using a small brush - or you could try sugar glue or even egg white.
Other CCers might be able to help you some more...

HTH?!

Cheers!

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 12:33pm
post #3 of 14

I just brush the back of the fondant pieces w/ water......whether I'm using them on a cake iced w/ bc or fondant! Works perfectly!

Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karen421 Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 12:56pm
post #4 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missymaam

Hello all,

I was wondering if there is a another way to "glue" fondant and other decorations to cakes other than using buttercream. Is there something clear? I'm pretty new to cake decorating. When I use buttercream, it shows through the sides and seems a little messy.

Thanks in advance for your help. icon_smile.gif

Hi Missy;

Are you try to do fondant to fondant? I agree plain water or egg white works great.

tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 1:04pm
post #5 of 14

Yep, I use plain water. Works great!

StephsCakes72 Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 1:11pm
post #6 of 14

Thank you all so much! When I went to my cake supplier, they said I could only use buttercream. I knew you all would help me out! icon_smile.gif