What's Under The Fondant?

Decorating By sweettooth622 Updated 8 Jun 2010 , 1:17am by BlakesCakes

sweettooth622 Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 10:41pm
post #1 of 6

I'm still pretty new at this cake baking & decorating stuff and I haven't taken any classes so far....so I hope someone more experienced than I will be able to help.
I don't bake many chocolate cakes, but the ones I have baked...I haven't covered in fondant because I wasn't sure if chocolate icing would work underneath fondant or even taste good in combo with it. I'm also afraid regular buttercream icing won't taste good in combo with a chocolate cake....?
Can any type of icing be used under fondant or does it have to be a crusting type of icing so that the fondant stays put & you don't get "elephant skin" or worse?
Any help is MUCH appreciated! Thank you icon_biggrin.gif

5 replies
KayMc Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 11:58pm
post #2 of 6

You could use chocolate buttercream, or chocolate ganache under the fondant if you wanted to.

mbark Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 12:17am
post #3 of 6

I just wanted to say that chocolate cake with regular white icing is one of my favorite combos, it tastes really good!

emjay83 Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 12:53am
post #4 of 6

You can combine chocolate cake with so many different flavors... Nearly any buttercream will work -- regular, chocolate, almond, strawberry, coconut, raspberry, orange, mint, etc. Cream cheese icing is also delicious with chocolate. I prefer to use non-crusting icings under fondant, so it has something to stick to when smoothing, and you prevent bubbles forming from sections that have pulled away. But you can use crusting, if you prefer. In that case, I'd recommend dampening the bottom edge of the icing very slightly as you're working, to get the fondant to adhere better. Be careful not put on too much icing, though -- a little thicker than a crumb coat should do it (otherwise it tends to squish and bulge when fondant is being smoothed.)