Taking The Plunge?

Business By kger Updated 8 Jun 2010 , 12:43am by kger

kger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kger Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 2:16pm
post #1 of 8

Greetings all! I'm new here, and I've been enjoying the business forum. I'm a hobby caker, and I'm wondering at what point you all have felt confident enough with your skills to go from hobby to pro?

I've been contemplating a business for a few months now, and yesterday I did 2 cakes for 2 different friends' kids' b-day parties and at each one, all the guests were just raving and on top of me with questions: How did you do that? How long did it take you? Are you going to start a business? etc. So my first question is at what point do you take the plunge? I have the motivation, but not the experience, at this point. This week was my first experimentation with fondant and I've never torted a cake, for example. It's been all bc and straight layers up to this point.

I'm in VA, and I've researched the legalities, and I know it's possible to do a home bakery, but I also know there are several custom home bakers in my area (DC Metro). And now I keep seeing signs at the grocery stores for "designer cakes". So my 2nd question, is how much competition is too much competition? I was really thinking that 1 cake ever other week would be fine for me, a SAHM with little ones. I can really only work in the evenings, so I'm not looking to take the cake world by storm just yet... more of a money-making hobby, but, of course, I would want it to be legal and legit, regardless of how small.

Any words of advice ?

7 replies
awatterson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awatterson Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 2:31pm
post #2 of 8

Once people started commenting that they wanted to buy the stuff I was making I decided that it was time to get the business license and start off the legal way. I didn't want to pay some kind of a huge fine just because I didn't pay a $50 license fee. Good luck!