Beginners Book You Would Recommend? Also General Cake ???'s

Decorating By Hollandy Updated 9 Jun 2010 , 8:09am by Hollandy

Hollandy Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 7:54am
post #1 of 10

Hi! I am new to this forum and new to the cake decorating scene. Since I'm an uber beginner I was wondering if there were any "must have" cake books that you could recommend (like Cake Decorating for Dummies or similar). What helped you out when you first began?

I would LOVE to take the Wilton courses but I live in the Netherlands and they're not available. I am thinking of trying to squeeze one in when I'm at "home" next time (Illinois) but until then this website and any book you can recommend will do!

My daughter will turn 2 on August 1st and I want to make a cake similar to the one attached here. I have found a website that seels pre-dyed fondant. Have you had positive experiences with packaged fondant? The Dutch tend not to do things overly-sweet, so that's one concern. Last year on her 1st bday I made MMF (which was a nightmare) and just told them to peel it off and not eat it. Some of them did like it though.

I will need a butter cream recipe that doesn't include shortening as well, as it's not readily available here and if I haul myself to the city to the store that carried American goods, for a small container of crisco I will pay 10 euros easily. I've been reading the buttercream sticky post but all of the info is really overwhelming!

I'm going to make a practice run with the cake and only have two tiers since it will be a small party. I'm really nervous but totally excited (and slightly obsessed)

Thanks and I'm really excited to be part of the "group".
LL

9 replies
tinygoose Posted 7 Jun 2010 , 8:55am
post #2 of 10