How Do You Think These Dogwood Flowers And Leaves Were Done?

Decorating By drakegore Updated 5 Jun 2010 , 1:00am by LindaF144a

drakegore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drakegore Posted 4 Jun 2010 , 1:34pm
post #1 of 8

http://www.flickr.com/photos/studiocake/3499248222/in/faves-40152129@N06/

this is a studiocake; i love her designs!

do you think a large rose leaf cutter was used for the flower petals?
how about the leaves? i cannot seem to find a leaf cutter with this shape.
do they look more like fondant that gumpaste?
lastly, do you think the petals are just "glued" together at their tips with nothing on the back? i woud be worried they would be weak at the center.

i am still a gumpaste flower newbie though i so don't wanna be a newbie, lol. any help you can send my way would be greatly appreciated!

thank you ,
diane

7 replies
dsilvest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilvest Posted 4 Jun 2010 , 1:47pm
post #2 of 8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGx8u5YPiJ8&feature=channel

This is a video tutorial where she uses a Wilton 5 petal cutter to make the dogwood.
There are lots of tutorials in the How Do I forum section
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-654803.html

drakegore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drakegore Posted 4 Jun 2010 , 2:14pm
post #3 of 8

thank you diane, but i know how to do the dogwood with the one piece cutter (one of the very few i do know, lol. i learned from all the great tutorials, i am so thankful for people who share their knowlege!).

what i am needing help with is doing it with four individual petals like studio cake did. i have not done this type of dogwood yet and so far i cannot find anything to help. i also cannot figure out what she used for a leaf.

thank you!
diane

AbouttheCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AbouttheCake Posted 4 Jun 2010 , 2:26pm
post #4 of 8