Duff's Fondant..are Ya Kidding Me?

Decorating By Irish245 Updated 28 Feb 2013 , 4:21am by ibakeinheels

Butterpatty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Butterpatty Posted 8 Jun 2010 , 11:08pm
post #61 of 73

I am just a hobby baker and don't/can't buy in bulk or wholesale. I pay about $17 + tax for a 2 lb bucket of colored Satin Ice (a little less for white) at the local cake shop. So, I will definitely try the Duff product at Michael's while they still let you use a coupon for 40%-50% off. Even with tax it is still a bit of savings for me (and Michael's is closer to my home than the bake shop). I don't think the local bake shop is going to have to worry about loss of business though icon_biggrin.gif

artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 13 Jun 2010 , 12:59am
post #62 of 73

I was in Michael's today for non-cake reasons. But thought I'd cruise over tot he cake aisle and check this Duff stuff out. Nothing he was selling interested me. But I picked up a 2lb (with a coupon)of his dark brown (chocolate flavored) fondant since I have a several cakes coming up that need lots of brown accents (what is it with all these monkey themed baby showers?)

I pulled a bit out to see what it was like. It was not uniform in texture or color. But after a bit of kneading, it was very nice, smooth and workable. Not sticky or dry. It should be very easy to work with.

Taste was good...pretty much like tootsie roll. BUT...if you have clients who don't like the texture of fondant because it's chewy, stay away from this stuff! It was damn close to bubble gum chewy. After ages of chewing, I pretty much had to swallow it whole. Chewing just wouldn't break it up!

Maybe I'm just spoiled by the melt-in-your-mouth texture of MFF, and even MMF, to a lesser extent. But this stuff is just not viable for covering cakes with. Small accents, sure. But whole cakes? Not in my kitchen.

wrightway777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile