First Wedding Cake This Weekend....help!!!

Decorating By cakeglitz Updated 7 Jun 2010 , 9:26pm by cakeglitz

cakeglitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeglitz Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 7:01pm
post #1 of 4

I'm making my first wedding cake for my nephew's wedding this weekend.

I have frozen the large layers already and will be working on the remainder tonight. I'm doing a very basic 3 tiered cake 14, 10, 6 buttercream with swiss dots, black ribbon around the edges and roses between.

How do I keep the plastic cake plate from showing? Obviously I know I will have the cakes on boards and the boards on the plates but I don't want the plastic plate to show.

Can I use an 8" plate under the 10" board? Will I have enough stability? How have you guys been able to do this? I have seen so many cakes done like this where the plates don't show...just need to know the best method...

I'm starting to feel the nerves a little bit now that it's getting closer. I've never used columns before so this is my first attempt. I bought both the column picks and the regular round ones because I'm not sure which to use. I feel like the round ones will be more stable.....

HELP!!!! icon_eek.gif

3 replies
Enchantedcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Enchantedcakes Posted 4 Jun 2010 , 9:34pm
post #2 of 4

Once the six in cake in on the six inch plate and you ice it the plate should not show same with the 10 inch. Use the board/plate as a guide while icing.

eccl1-12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eccl1-12 Posted 4 Jun 2010 , 10:05pm
post #3 of 4