Mixer Preference

Decorating By AmyJones Updated 5 Jun 2010 , 5:05pm by 4realLaLa

AmyJones Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:04pm
post #1 of 19

I am very new to cake decorating and I am looking at buying a stand mixer. I have had people tell me different things about each brand...is there one you prefer?
Thank you!

18 replies
brensmom12 Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:19pm
post #2 of 19

I have 2 Kitchenaids and LOVE them! They are workhorses so even with stiff dough they do well. I recently got a new Professional 600 series Kitchenaid which is amazing and if I had done it all over again I would have purchased this first! My Artisan works well but for doubling recipes I go to the bigger Professional size. Hope this helps!

lisamenz Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 3:20pm
post #3 of 19

If you are doing cakes in a small way . Such for family and friends and etc. I love my Kitchen Aid Mixer. I do cakes professionally. I have had mine for 15 years. Not a issue with it. It keeps on running and running. The only thing, with the new ones, get the wider bowl at the top. Makes it easier for stirring and adding things. Good luck icon_lol.gif

Angelfire3 Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 2:32am
post #4 of 19

I'm glad I looked here before I posted my question. I too, am looking for an excellent stand mixer. I blew my last one, which was a hand-held mixer.

So, everyone agrees that the KA stand mixer is the best one? What about Hamilton Beach, Rival, Kalorik or Sunbeam? What is the best speed/watts to look for? Thanks in advance for your replies.

AmyJones, I didn't mean to hijack your post. I just want to buy the best mixer possible.

PiccoloChellie Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 2:49am
post #5 of 19

Kitchenaid all the way! I adore my little workhorse. icon_smile.gif

Karen421 Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 3:09am
post #6 of 19

I love my KA 600, and I got a couple of extra bowls - so I could finish all the mixing before I had to wash everything.

debster Posted 3 Jun 2010 , 3:12am
post #7 of 19