Need Advice On Tools For Quilt And Letters

Decorating By odish Updated 29 Jun 2010 , 4:37pm by ImMissWorld

odish Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 12:54pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone,

I am new to cake decorating and absolutely loving it. I find the forums so informative and am amazed how generous people are with their advice and sharing their experience and knowledge. Thank you all as it is a great "leg up" to get started. On that note....

I saw on Cake Boss the other night that he used a little hand-held wheely tool to create a quilt effect criss crossing on the fondant. Then he added tiny silver beads where they crossed. It looked beautiful - does anyone know what this tool is called?

Also I have been using Jem Alphabet cutters for text on the cake. I love the font and the height of the letters more than piping the text myself. But boy they are difficult to use -when I checked on CC forums everyone else seemd to think so too . Are there any alphabet sets with ejectors that are recommended?

Thanks in advance.

4 replies
nikinoonie Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 1:17pm
post #2 of 5

I'm not sure about the letters, but the quilting tool I use is the Wilton tool that has three different wheels (a cutter, a perforator for a quilted look, and a wavy cutter). I use the perforator along with a triangle to make the quilted lines in BC or fondant. i found it at Hobby Lobby, but I'm sure any cake supply place would have it. I recommend a flexible triangle or creating one out of a piece of stencil plastic that you can buy at hobby Lobby or Michaels. I just made a mark one inch from the corner, and used that as a guide to make sure that all the lines were even. Since it's flexible, it's much easier to use on a round cake, too.
Good luck with the letters, maybe would have them. I saw that FMM brand cutters are on sale this week.

tesso Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 1:25pm
post #3 of 5